Short Hairy Dwarf vs Pipe-Down-Kids

Posted on September 12, 2007

1


Short Hairy Dwarf said…

“Journalism covers a broad field. It does not simply refer to the profession of reporting.”

Okay. “define: journalism” at google:

Definitions of journalism on the Web:

  • a style of writing for presenting bare facts to describe news events
    www.iclasses.org/assets/literature/literary_glossary.cfm
  • newspapers and magazines collectively
  • the profession of reporting or photographing or editing news stories for one of the media
    wordnet.princeton.edu/perl/webwn
  • Journalism is a discipline of collecting, verifying, reporting and analyzing information gathered regarding current events, including trends, issues and people. Those who practice journalism are known as journalists.
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Journalism
  • Merriam-Webster:
    a: the collection and editing of news for presentation through the media b: the public press c: an academic study concerned with the collection and editing of news or the management of a news medium
    2 a: writing designed for publication in a newspaper or magazine b: writing characterized by a direct presentation of facts or description of events without an attempt at interpretation c: writing designed to appeal to current popular taste or public interest

    “This course is designed to aid people in developing general writing and analytical skills, which can be applied to a wide range of media related fields.”
    Quite. Thats not in dispute. But my comments are about Journalism. Not ‘media related fields’.

    “Furthermore, as an individual keen to pursue a position in the Public relations field, I take offence to your “well informed” analyses that this is a “bullshit” job.”

    Good luck. By all means. Absolute Power on ABC makes it look like great fun. As for your taking offence, your feelings could have been spared by application of a more careful reading of my comments. It is a “bullshit job” in the sense that I seek employment in Journalism (see above), and only Journalism. Not anything that resembles it vaguely at a distance, or even resembles it up close.

    “I don’t think that this is particularly constructive in anyway, and instead simply highlights your inability to take this blogging exercise seriously.”

    On the topic of seriousness, may I refer you to the collected works and quotes of Oscar Wilde, but drawing your particular attention to The Importance of Being Earnest? But as we’re speaking personally, for my part I wish it known I am capable of enormous seriousness indeed, sir, and in my turn, I am quite offended that you disparage my great sobriety. Actually, not really.
    I thank you for your feedback. May I offer some also? Sometimes it’s important to cast about in a spirit of fun for ‘one’s voice’. Not everything that one commits to expression must be the final word, so to speak. Blogging in the past has taught me the need to have fun with it. May I refer you to sudama.blogspot.com for further illustration.

    “Perhaps next time you should not write your weekly blog in a spare 5 minutes before class.”

    Actually, getting just the write ‘brief and casual’ tone for that entry took considerably longer than five minutes. More like half an hour. As a greater wit than I said, “I have made this letter longer than usual because I lack the time to make it shorter.” (Blaise Pascal)
    Don’t be fooled by length, or indeed, the lack of it. Brevity is a virtue. It is one that I’m still developing myself, so I sympathise with your own struggles in this area.

    Edit: A pleasure sir, but next time play the ball and not the man. (Thanks to baba ganouj for his close reading)
    PS I cannot reach your blog Mr. Ganouj, where have you gone?

    Posted in: Uncategorized