Journalism today..sheesh

Posted on August 15, 2007

1


I’m a subscriber to various job sites. I am becoming more bemused everyday about bullshit jobs appearing in my inbox under the category of ‘Journalism/writing’

This is a typical example
Player in the Online information environment is seeking a Communications/Campaign Manager to manage client accounts across search marketing platforms

Okay. First problem is that this is not a journalism job, it sounds like PR to me. Which is fine, but i didnt include PR in my search terms. This job might involve writing, but that isn’t even clear. In fact managing client accounts doesn’t really sound like journalism or writing at all.

So why the f**k is it under that heading?

Makes me despair about my prospects in this profession.
Or should I just ‘get real’ and give up on one day being a Foreign Correspondent, and instead see the enormous value, personally and financially, in writing about why my clients’ thing is good and that you should buy it, or like it, or not oppose it, or whatever.
IS IT ALL JUST F**KING PR THESE DAYS?

Posted in: Uncategorized