Lying in a [hash] den in Mumbai boom chuka boom chuka

Posted on January 13, 2006

0


Just kidding.

Total delay time to date: 18h5m. India 558: Us 23

But its true to say I’ve had the Men at Work classic in my head since my tropicana trash experience in Calangute. In the aussie contingent Craig McLachlan (no prizes) was a mildly amusing also-ran, ditto the Kylie classic. However the aforementioned MAW anthem, and two Dire Straits songs were also played. Incredible. Walk of Life Hannah and I both enjoyed, but under the circumstances or under the influence i should say, sandwiched as it was between forgettable eighties club hits, Sultans of Swing was almost a mystical experience. What with that and Colin Hay’s wonderful vocal on Land Down Under, I was ecstatic. The song had often struck me as a little cheesy or like an Australis cosmetics add, but i was deliriously transported by the flutes and oz rock eighties beer barn sound. I pictured balmy Queensland somewhere, sweaty aussies arms round each other swinging their schooners in time… Suddenly i was there.

Patriotism strikes one at the oddest moments. It feels good to feel good about some our cultural exports as Johnny would call them. But now here in Mumbai, it takes on added resonance. I’ve been here three hours and already the pushers are on the case. I can see where that last verse comes from now. A bit controversial for such an MOR radio hit surely?

This place is craaazy maaaan. Colonial architecture to shame Melbourne and Sydney’s combined. Beautiful magnificent mosques, temples – Hindu, Jain, Zorastrian even – sprawling slums. High rise shanty slums even. Charming street kids and commission men. So many people. Its all quite obvious to say now, but seeing is believing I guess. Tres cramped. But the other people in here are worth it, they’re all interesting in some way.

African guy just walks in and can’t get yahoo messenger going, so he says ‘hey man, what is wraang with this technarlagy, come on man fix dis ting’. He got results. So now my internet is working again as well. So i’m able to confirm these lyrics at last:

Lying in a den in Bombay
With a slack jaw, and not much to say
I said to the man, “Are you trying to tempt me
Because I come from the land of plenty?”

And he said,”Oh! Do you come from a land down under? (oh yeah yeah)
Where women glow and men plunder?
Can’t you hear, can’t you hear the thunder?
You better run, you better take cover.”

Bless.

Posted in: Uncategorized